Division of Small Business

SBA offers online guide for business taxes

Confused about which taxes to file as a small business owner?

The U.S. Small Business Administration offers an online guide to business taxes.

Generally, there are five types of business taxes, according to the guide:

  • Income tax
  • Self-employment tax
  • Estimated tax
  • Employer tax
  • Excise tax

One thing business owners will need to do, SBA says, is choose their tax year.

For most business owners, their tax year will be the same as the calendar year, Jan. 1 to Dec. 31.

But businesses can choose a 12-month period ending at the end of any month, according to IRS rules. 

Click here to read SBA’s guide to business taxes.


The Delaware Division of Small Business wants to help you start and grow your business in Delaware.

Contact us to see how we can help you.



Related Topics:  ,

Stay connected with the latest news on the Division, Delaware businesses, upcoming events and much more.

CONNECT:   Division of Small Business Facebook Page  |  Division of Small Business Twitter Feed  |  Division of Small Business Instagram Feed  |  Division of Small Business YouTube Feed  |  Division of Small Business LinkedIn Feed