Now Accepting Applications for the Site Readiness Fund - Apply Today! More Info logo
Division of Small Business

Governor announces four new Downtown Development Districts

Gov. John Carney on Monday announced that Clayton, Delaware City, Middletown and New Castle have been designated Downtown Development Districts which is intended to encourage redevelopment by making property owners in those areas eligible for a rebate of up to 20 percent on what they spend for improving their properties.

Eight cities and towns in Delaware already participate in the program, which started in 2014. Rebates totaling $31.6 million have been awarded spurring $597 million in private investment. The Delaware State Housing Authority administers the program.

The additional cities and towns were selected based upon their revitalization plans and need for financial incentives.

“The Downtown Development Districts program is already bringing significant private investment to the eight currently designated cities and towns, and I am thrilled to welcome these four new designations to the program,” Gov. Carney said in a news release. “This expansion continues our commitment to revitalizing our downtown business districts and surrounding neighborhoods.”

Click here to read the press release.

The Division of Small Business wants to help you start and grow your business in Delaware.

Contact us to see how we can help you.



Related Topics:  , ,

Stay connected with the latest news on the Division, Delaware businesses, upcoming events and much more.

Enter your email address to receive updates from the Division of Small Business

CONNECT:   Division of Small Business Facebook Page  |  Division of Small Business Twitter Feed  |  Division of Small Business Instagram Feed  |  Division of Small Business YouTube Feed  |  Division of Small Business LinkedIn Feed